Saturday Project: Garden Gate

Posted: May 12, 2007 by jgrantmarshall in Uncategorized

As you can see in the Flickr photo gallery, today I finally got around to making a garden gate.  As you may remember, we had to fence off our new raised garden because Brandy (our dog) thought the garden made a nice place to run (we didn’t).  I got the OK from Natalie this morning to make it a “rustic” gate made from cedar fencing that the previous owners of our house left.  I wanted it to have a little bit of flash and not just cut straight at the top.  My first thought was to dog ear the tops, like the rest of the backyard fence, but creativity got the better of me.  I decided to cut the top in a inward half circle, figuring my circular saw should be able to do curves.  Making the inward circle proved to be a difficult job because once I got about the length of the blade into the cut, the back of the blade got caught where I started the cut.  Not the right tool for the job, as everyone else probably already knew.  I ended up getting it pretty close and then using a wood rasp to finish the curve… so don’t look too closely at it.  I’m calling it a Happy Mother’s Day for Natalie.

When I was finished and was showing off my work, Grant picked the first veggies from our garden.  Radishes are ready, and it is only the beginning of May!  I am excited for our garden this year!

 What did you do today?

Comments
  1. Nana says:

    Love the gate. Rustic, indeed! Can’t wait to see lots of vegetables growing behind it! 😉

  2. Mom-in-law says:

    What did we do on this day? We were at Sea World!!! Can’t wait to see your handiwork in person!

Leave a Reply

