Broadband Speed Test

Posted: June 16, 2007 by jgrantmarshall in family, internet

I am sure that you, like me, have been interested in finding out just how fast you’re going on Al Gore’s “Information Super Highway”.  It appears that www.DSLReports.com has redesigned their interface since the last time I looked at this and I wanted to share this with you!

I viewed their Flash-based test and was impressed with the details it spit out and the ease of use.  To start you simply choose a server near you and click on it.  A green to red indicator gives a glimpse at the server’s status.  The closest to me were near San Francisco.  Next, it tests upload and download speeds.  Finally, it graphs the results and you can see how you stack up against other users of your ISP or against others in your ZIP code.  It even has a box to save the HTML so that you can post results to your webpage.  Mine are below.

I wanted to test my speed because Natalie just spoke with our ISP and was able to shrink our monthly bill by ~$20 AND increase our bandwidth to 1.5Mbps!  Is she awesome or what?

Leave a Reply

