Use Google to Find MP3’s

Posted: July 14, 2007 by jgrantmarshall in Uncategorized

I stumbled on the YouTube video below and thought I’d pass the info on.  So, by now, everyone knows that if you want to find something on the net you use Google as one of your main tools.  I pretty much use it as my only search tool (no, I’m not paid to say that but wish I were..).  The author of the video demonstrates how to use Google to search for MP3 music files by narrowing down the amount of “junk” retrieved.  Below, is an example you could use to search:

“twisted sister” intitle:”index.of” “parent directory” “size” “last modified” “description” [snd] (mp4|mp3|avi|ogg|wmv|mov) -inurl:asp -inurl:(asp|jsp|php|html|htm|cf|shtml) “

I find pretty interesting all the Google tricks that are used in this search.  Previous to this, I either didn’t know or forgot about the ability to OR ‘|’.

I was having difficulty with the search that he was describing in his video, so visited his website at http://www.jimmyr.com/mp3.php and found that he has a web script that is doing the hard part for you even so that all that you have to do is enter your search criteria.  The form then will submit to Google and all you need to do is find your tunes.  His site is great and has many videos describing areas of interest such as virus scanning and bit torrents.

Happy downloading!

 


 


Comments
  1. stevinup says:

    Hey…I too saw jimmyr’s automated google search. I saw the code that he had prepared on his site to paste into blogs, etc. I tried pasting the code into WordPress under Add Page but no luck except for a page with the code. Am I supposed to put this in the CSS part of the site or what? How can I integrate his search into my WordPress blog?

    stevinup.wordpress.com

    P.S: Are you on Digg? I’ll add you as a friend.

Leave a Reply

