My XBox 360 died today

Posted: January 6, 2008 by jgrantmarshall in computers
Tags:

Today I redeemed my XBox Live subscription and very soon there after my XBox 360 hung up/froze. When I rebooted (hard reboot since the controllers weren’t doing anything), I got the infamous 3 red lights on the Ring of Lights. Evidently, 3 lights means a general hardware failure. I have googled for fixes but nothing has worked, so I have contacted support. Since we had a busy day planned, I emailed support but I have not heard back after 12 hours. I’ll see what tomorrow holds, but I have a feeling that it is going to be taking a trip to Microsoft.

*edit* Arrggh… MS never responded, so I called back today, three days later.  I never spoke to anyone besides Max, their automated agent, who instructed me to hang up and request a repair online.  I was pondering doing that anyway, especially since I had already verified everything I could find on their site, including: clearing the HDD cache, creating a new user, and unplugging/replugging everything.  It still would have felt better to talk to someone before I just sent my Xbox away for a month!  At any rate, MS did make the process to request a repair really easy (I think probably too easy and I would wonder how many get sent in unnecessarily).  I’ll keep you updated when the empty box arrives.

Comments
  1. fgy299 says:

    If you want free xbox 360 elite consoles, check out my blog.

    http://fgy299-freebiesforyouandme.blogspot.com/

  2. RW says:

    I feel your loss. I had a very similar thing happen to my xbox 360. I got a WII though, so I’m over it. Have fun!

  3. RW says:

    Keep us updated with what happens with the xbox

Leave a Reply

