Nice Weather

Posted: March 10, 2008 by jgrantmarshall in family

Wow… what an AWESOME day we had;  the first full day we’ve had to enjoy Daylight Savings Time!  I was guessing the temperature to be about 65 degrees but the bank clock on the way home (@ 1700) said 69 degrees… FAHRENHEIT!  We took some time out of our grocery shopping to stop at Skinner Butte park to play on the BIG playstructure and to take a quick walk.

I have to share with you a comment I heard while on the playground.  A bigger than average sized lady yelled to her children, in front of God and everyone, to “go and play… Mommy’s smoking!”  I guess that my life is pretty sheltered when that statement caught me off guard.  I guess it just makes me laugh and feel bad at the same time.  Anyway, the park was as packed as I have ever seen it, but it is still a lot of fun.  If you have kids and find yourself in Eugene, Skinner Butte park is pretty nice.

Later, we continued our “cultural experience” at WinCo.  That place is always a zoo and no more needs to be said.

When we finally got home and put groceries away, I fired up the BBQ for this year’s first hamburger feast.  I sure do love BBQ hamburgers… especially the ones I BBQ!  Today I added to my “secret” recipe.  Besides onion soup mix, I threw in some Worcestershire Sauce.  I don’t think I put enough in… but, then again, no one complained and Grant even downed a whole hamburger (last year he could only eat a half).  Has anyone ever put bacon bits inside the patty?  If I had some, I was also going to try this…

I added some pics to Flickr which can also be seen in the gallery to the right.

What did you do today to enjoy the weather?

Comments
  1. Missy says:

    I’m catching up, and reading your blog…but this one cracked me up. First the lady at the park, and then your “cultural experience” at Winco. I’ve been there a few times and you’re right. That place was crazy!!

  2. Missy, yeah, that lady was a trip… if you’re that open to say something like that in public, it makes ya wonder what is said not in public.

    Speaking of WinCo, we spent a romantic Friday night there tonight… ah, I guess I’m old people now.

Leave a Reply

