Chasing the 3500

Posted: April 25, 2008 by jgrantmarshall in health, jogging

“Chasing the 3500” is my internal phrase (feel free to use the term, if you like) to describe my weight loss and exercise plan.  This comes from the fact that 1 pound is about equal to 3500 calories.  Why is this important?  Every time that I have a calorie deficit of 3500, this equals 1 more pound less of me!  If you’ve been keeping an eye on my Weight Loss Spreadsheet (on the right column), you’ll notice that over the past couple of weeks I have been closely monitoring my calories (using FitDay.com, link also at right) and it has been taking only a couple of days to lose a pound!  This makes sense because I have been trying to stick to eating 2000 calories and I have been expending between 3500 and 4000 calories.

Today, I ran the RCCL Down & Back (again… link at right).  I find that I really enjoy running now.  I continue to be amazed that 3 miles is easy for me at 6MPH.  Obviously, that would change if I ran faster, though.

Today, my weight was 209.0.  0.3 lost… I think bad mojo is catching up with me and I have delayed reaching my 3500.  Back to work!

Leave a Reply

