Cholesterol Results

Posted: July 27, 2008 by jgrantmarshall in fitness, google, health
Tags: , ,

I went to the Doctor earlier in the week to have some blood drawn to check my cholesterol levels and I got the results back today.  That has got to be the fastest turn around time that I’ve ever had for test results!

Anyway…

My cholesterol level was 130 mg/dl, down from my previous 2 at 157 and 148 respectively!  I still will need to take medication, but all metrics were finally in normal categories.

I have been eating oatmeal with a tablespoon of honey (Quaker Old Fashioned and not the instant packets) for about a month now.  Perhaps that helps to explain the 18 point drop since March.  I switched from the packets because I could eat about 2x as much for the same amount of calories and not necessarily for the cholesterol lowering properties that they tout on the commercials.

Also, I just entered these results in my Google Health account and while I was there, I changed my weight from 200 to 185.  That was a pretty good feeling… 15 pounds since March… and I thought I felt good then!  However, just to ensure I was again grounded, Google Health nicely computed my BMI for me… 25.1.  The cutoff for “normal weight” was 24.9.  Still overweight, according to BMI.  Oh, well.  Just something to stoke the fire.

Comments
  1. Dr Barry L Marks says:

    Just a thought… did you know you can lower your total cholesterol levels too much?

    The numbers you are citing are too low if you are talking about “total” cholesterol. That number should be between 140 at the lowest and 200 at the highest. No need to go lower than 140. Many cases have been cited where the patients started borderline high, say 200 and took cholesterol lowering drugs and ended up too low, which caused depression, mania, suicidal and homicidal thoughts, etc. Your brain needs a certain amount of cholesterol to be healthy.

    If you are talking about LDL’s then 70mg/dl or less is your goal.

    Also check your labs for a triglyceride level of 150 or less.

    Keep working out and watching your diet to get closer to your desired BMI. You’re doing great!

    Just my two cents to keep you from literally “driving yourself crazy” getting fit! 🙂

  2. Thank you, Dr. Marks, for you two cents. I am assuming that 130 is my total cholesterol, although it is just listed as “CHOLESTEROL” in the sheet mailed to me by my Dr.

    Across the sheet, there is listed a column called “Reference Range” and it says 108-199 for CHOLESTEROL. Given that range, do you suppose that CHOLESTEROL refers to total cholesterol? If so, is the 108 at the lower end of that range definitely too low, in your opinion?

    Thanks again for visiting my page and offering your opinion!

  3. Dr Barry L Marks says:

    That’s for total cholesterol.

    I work with more natural and nutritional based labs and they list reference as 130-200. I read a journal article 2 years ago that gave this as “optimum” range balancing cardiovascular risk and body’s need for cholesterol: 150-188.

    Two schools of thought:

    1. Traditional medical: 100 total cholesterol is ok
    2. Natural medicine (chiro, nutritionists, etc.): 140 is as low as you need to go. Below that and you do not benefit any more and the risks increase for other problems noted before.

    I believe #2. Personally I’ve kept mine at 150-160 for the past 20 years by maintaining “decent” diet, nothing radical. I like to eat!

    Genetics also plays a role. Some have naturally lower or higher levels. You are lower, which is great so you don’t have to work at as much as others.

    IMO, keep yours where it is.

    Warmest regards,

    Dr Barry Marks

  4. Joe Average says:

    Congrats on your progress. That’s fabulous. I’m currently getting in shape rather than starting on medication since I know where the problem was. 🙂 I’m getting closer to the point where I’ll go in again and have blood work done, but I’m feeling much better as a side benefit.

    Best wishes.

  5. Jason says:

    Thank you, Joe! I checked out your blog and have now subscribed to your RSS feed. I think you really nailed it with your “Love Your Life” entry. Good stuff.

    Thanks again, Dr Marks. This info has given me reason to begin researching the possibility of getting off the meds. Actually, genetics haven’t been too kind to me with cholesterol problems. I was over 300 total cholesterol before the meds and I was still in my 20’s! I would definitely like to be medication-free.

  6. Woman Drugs says:

    Just fellow author, a very interesting article, is rarely found in the network once again want to thank the sponsors, thank you.

Leave a Reply

