Power of 10 Workout

Posted: August 22, 2008 by jgrantmarshall in fitness, health
Tags: ,

My Step-Brother recently was up for a visit (before the backpacking trip, so not so recently, I suppose).  We jogged “Pre’s Trail” and talked fitness in so doing.  He told me that he has been using the “Power of 10 Workout” (http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2003/02/24/earlyshow/health/shapeup/main541813.shtml) and felt it worked pretty well.

You know me… yep, I googled it the other day.  The gist, if you didn’t follow the link above or google it yourself, is that you lift a weight slowly up for 10 seconds and then lower it slowly for 10 seconds.  This is done without stopping and you should lift a weight that can be lifted 6-8 times before fatigue.  The weight lifted is normally less than you would typically lift.

As I thought about this, it occurred to me that, with my recent knee pain issues, perhaps lifting less weight in a slow, controlled manner would be a good thing for me, too.

I used the Power of 10 for my lower body workout this morning.  Results?  Finding the optimal weight is going to take a couple rounds.  Half of the exercises were really difficult but the other half were easy and I ended up doing more than 6-8.  Beyond that, though, my legs were rubbery all day and calves are sore now, so it definitely did something.

I am planning to continue this for the next couple of months.  Hopefully, I will have good news to report back about the Power of 10 soon!

Comments
  1. Lea says:

    Just wondered how it’s been working out for you. I just bought Zickerman’s book and I’ve been looking to find a real person who has taken it on.
    Thanks

  2. MySpace Friend Adder says:

    I found your blog whlie Googling for ways to promote my own blog with Social Networks. Great work here – hope that I can get mine going soon – any tips or advice for a relative newb?

  3. Brent says:

    I did the Power of 10 workout and lost approximately 40 pounds and gained lean muscle which slimmed me down nicely. I couldn’t believe the results..I mean how many workouts do you know of that only require one day a week of exercise. All I can say is buy the book and follow what it says, it works. Good Luck.

    Brent

  4. Everyone loves what you guys are up too. This type
    of clever work and reporting!
    Keep up the amazin g works guys I’ve included you guys to our blogroll.

Leave a Reply

