My (Mostly) New GPS

Posted: March 7, 2009 by jgrantmarshall in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

First off, I want to thank everyone for the birthday dollars that went toward purchasing my new-to-me GPS.

I picked out a Garmin GPSMap 60CS on EBay.  Although not new, I have a good idea that the unit was hardly used by the previous owner because there are no scratches, buttons are not worn and there were only about 3 waypoints stored in memory.  Besides the physical aspects, the price was about 1/3 of what it would have been new.  It was a good purchase and a great birthday gift!

Why a new GPS?  Well, my old one was… old.  Technology has progressed and the features of my new GPS make life easier.  My favorite feature is that it connects to my PC with a USB cable.  This makes it fast and convenient because USB is fairly superfluous in today’s electronic world, with most of my peripherals also requiring the same mini-USB connection (MP3 player, phone, etc.).  Garmin also does a GREAT job making the GPS communicate with the PC, allowing me to upload Geocaches directly to the unit, upload Google Map addresses directly to the unit & also to download tracks that I’ve taken to my PC which, I think, I can then share as a Google Map.

Grant and I have already found at least 4 Geocaches and hope to find more as Spring starts to warm up.

Leave a Reply

