Dessert Favorite

Posted: March 18, 2009 by jgrantmarshall in recipe

As many of you know, I try to watch what I eat.

OK, you’re right…  I obsessively watch what I eat, as evidenced by the food log in my right hand column. For over a year now, I log on SparkPeople.com everything I eat to keep an accurate total of calories consumed. I aim for about 2000 calories right now and try to follow Zone Diet proportions of 30% protein, 30% fat and 40% carbohydrate at each meal to maximize my CrossFit performance.

Anyway, in the past year, I have done a lot of trial and error with food choices and meals, so I am considering blogging about some of the things that I tried and liked.

I have a new dessert-ish type thing to share that I’ve had a few times now.

Yogurt and blueberries.

Details?

  • 1/2 cup of Nancy’s Non-fat Plain Yogurt (60 cals)
  • 1/4-ish cup frozen Blueberries (big bag from Costco is AWESOME, 20 cals)
  • 5-10 Pecan halves, crumbled (50-100 cals)
  • 1 tablespoon Honey (64 cals)

That’s it.  About 200 calories & roughly in the Zone.  Most importantly, though, is that this is much yummier than pre-stirred, syrupy yogurt.

Anybody else try this and like it?  Other recommendations?

Leave a comment