Backpacking: Part III

Posted: July 31, 2009 by jgrantmarshall in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Ugh… Why does packing take SOOO long? At least it is done now. My pack weighs 51 pounds & includes a full canteen & a full Nalgene bottle. Grant’s backpack weighs about 15 pounds.

Part of the reason it took so long is that Grant got slivers (planks) in his foot a couple of weeks ago. Natalie got the first bunch out earlier, but he said tonight that his foot still hurt. So, long story short (believe me it is a long story), Grant had another about half inch sliver going straight in to his foot that Natalie dug out. I have no idea how he was able to walk, but I’m hoping he’ll be able to tomorrow still.

Again it struck me as practically ridiculous, that I used to carry so much weight around with me everyday. More, actually, by 15 pounds at my heaviest. If I could do it then, I will be able to do it tomorrow. Can’t wait! The plan is to get out of the house ASAP in the morning to beat the heat of the day.

Leave a Reply

