Creamy Tomato & Basil Soup

Posted: October 4, 2009 by jgrantmarshall in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

Tonight I used up some of the tomatoes and basil that we have left in the garden by following this recipe: http://www.cooks.com/rec/view/0,1818,152172-237207,00.html

I followed the microwave instructions because… well, I’m a guy and a fan of the microwave!

I first chopped the tomatoes (about 2 lbs) and put them in a microwave safe bowl. Natalie harvested some basil (about 1/2 cup) and I put about 1/4 cup in with the tomatoes. I also added 2Tbs of olive oil and some minced garlic because garlic, like cheddar, makes everything better. I heated this, covered, in the mic for 10:30 and stirred it 3x.

While waiting, I stirred 1/2 cup of chicken broth into 1/2 cup of whole milk because we had whole milk and not heavy cream like the recipe called. I would do the whole milk or possibly even 1% next time because it was still creamy and good.

When the tomato mixture was finished in the mic, I poured everything in to the blender until it was evenly mixed. Lastly, I heated the soup one more time in the microwave to the desired serving temperature.

I added grated parmesan and a bit of fresh basil to top off each serving.

Leave a Reply

