Recommended Ratio of Fat/Carbs/Protein

Posted: April 8, 2008 by jgrantmarshall in Uncategorized

A friend asked at lunch if I knew what the recommended percentages were for fat/carbs/protein.  I knew that FitDay.com puts those details in a nice pie chart for me, but I had no idea if I was actually doing OK… although I thought I probably was.

So, using the power of Google, I found this site from the Mayo Clinic (how ironic is it that I’m looking for proper diet info from a place called mayo… ha!)  :

http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/healthy-diet/NU00200

Recommendation: Get 45 percent to 65 percent of your daily calories from carbohydrates. Emphasize complex carbohydrates, especially from whole grains and beans, and nutrient-rich fruits and milk. Limit sugars from candy and other sweets.

Recommendation: Between 10 percent and 35 percent of your total daily calories — 50 to 175 grams a day — can come from protein. This recommendation is based on a 2000-calorie diet.

Recommendation: Limit fat to 20 percent to 35 percent of your daily calories — 40 to 70 grams of fat a day if you consume a 2000-calorie diet. Emphasize fats from healthier sources, such as nuts and olive, canola and nut oils.

So, according to FitDay’s report of my intake for the past week, I found that I’m solidly within guidelines (although, I should watch fat a little more closely, evidently):

Average Calories

grams

cals

%total

Total:

1893

Fat:

63

569

31%

Sat:

22

194

11%

Poly:

14

122

7%

Mono:

23

207

11%

Carbs:

246

898

49%

Fiber:

21

0

0%

Protein:

93

372

20%

Alcohol:

0

1

0%

Comments
  1. bozinny says:

    Hmm..I have to disagree with your % breakdown. Looks a little high in carbs and low in protein. You need fat, as that kickstarts the metabolism, but protein is key in that it slows down the absorption of the carbs, and therefore stablizing the metabolic system (insulin and sugar levels are more level).

    I’m in a program where I have a trainer/dietitian/doctor/psychologist/group. Yeah, it sounds like overkill, but it’s a program that has a huge long term succes rate on weight loss.

    Another key is to track all your calories in a small notepad, or at lease track amounts of what you eat. This will help keep you accountable to yourself (and is a major reason long term weight success is possible).

    Good luck!

  2. bozinny says:

    Just saw fitday. Pretty cool!

  3. bozinny,

    Thanks for commenting!

    I thought that the recommendations sounded a bit off, too, but I figured the Mayo clinic wouldn’t steer me wrong. Perhaps I figured wrong. Can you share percentages recommended in your group?

    Take care!

    • It should be the other direction. bozinny-bro-scientist is reading Paleo-fatkins-meat-prop books and says 35% fat is nothing????
      My diet has been 15 – 5% fat for 20 years. I’ve been thin the whole time (46 now and ZERO health issues. 120 health videos). See the science of “The 80/10/10 diet” and you’ll never fall victim to the scammers again.

      Yep, that’s 80% carbs. The way MANY species eat (horses, monkeys)

Leave a comment